top of page
Search

Leading up to the show and the show itself:

The lead up to the show was stressful to say the least, I got everything done for it but I do not want to be in the position I was in again, I spent too much time helping for the dance show that I barley had enough time to work on my own show. Painting the flats was more enjoyable and less stressful than working on Anne's show, but that's not what I'll get graded for. I ended up being very frustrated during the dress rehearsals as Anne always seemed to find a problem and put a lot of them on me, I am usually good and juggling lots of work but with recent family issues I haven't been fully focused. I could have easily dealt with a normal workload, even the workload I was given, however I did not need the constant complaints from her, it wasn't exactly a good motivator, if anything it made me not want to do any of it and at one point I was very close to leaving.

The dress rehearsals went okay, I started talking to the actors more which made things easier as there was better communication between everyone. It was easier to get makeup done as I could tell them to come in a bit earlier, which made getting things like the facial hair right a lot easier. The facial hair pretty much stayed the same for Levi's character as I had more practice with him and a reference picture, for Madi it remained roughly the same as we practiced before but for the actual show she requested for it to be a bit longer at the sides so she could twist it a bit. It was a little annoying I had to redo the hair before every show as it gets taken off before act 2, but I guess it was good practice. I did have to do some very quick drag makeup that no one told me about until the last dress rehearsal, which turned out okay but it would have been a lot better if I had more opportunities to practice it. It was also inconvenient to have to do Levi's hair on the day of the show, I was not told to do it for any of the dress rehearsals so that was irritating to figure out last minute.

Painting the floor for the show was probably the easiest thing to do but it was very time consuming and I didn't have much help for it, I started with the help of a few people but they left once the college day was finished, which was 3:45 way before it was done. I ended up staying until about 6:30, I had to splatter the floor with all the different colours I had mixed up which took a while, I also had to put more sides on the decks and put all the set back in place so that I didn't have to do it really early on the Monday morning. Putting more sides on the decks was a little annoying as Anne had specifically asked for only the front to be covered which is what I originally did, but of course she has to ask for more on the last day in college before the show when I don't have time to set things up and cut wood, so instead I had to use fabric, which we luckily had some in a similar colour to the paint.

Making the dolls was probably the most time consuming things I had to do for the show, the bigger one wasn't too bad and didn't take very long but the smaller one had more problems. It would have been a lot easier to buy a doll and adapt it but we didn't have any budget so I had to make one from scratch, there are details on how I made it on my unit 12 pages. The main problem with it was the sand, it didn't work for the rehearsals but luckily it worked for the final shows, just had to remember to refill it before the shows. The first show went really well, we didn't really have any issues and everything went smoothly, the second show didn't go as well as there were a few problems but it still went well. The main issues were the rig having a fault which meant the lights had to be re don, which delayed the show by half an hour or so, we had to make sure the actors didn't leave the costume room so that the audience didn't see them, which was fine for some of them but other actors were more difficult to contain. The other issues for the show were an actor being late on stage, accidently dropping cups from the wedding table when we were putting it out, and a microphone being on at the wrong time, however none of these things were a big deal. I think I did pretty well over all working on this show, I know there are things to improve on, like time management, but to be fair I got everything done and helped with the other show.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page